Client Reviews

Displaying 
  Client Reviews

Corey Angst


Trip Review: Customer service was excellent from start to finish. Very nice unexpected touches along the way.

Most Memorable Moment: Having a drink on a hill in the Mara while the sun was setting. We also got to see a leopard walk within 5 feet of our truck. Seeing baby elephants clumsily walking behind their mothers was wonderful too.

Advice For Future Clients: Spend the extra money for the Geoffrey Kent suite. It is really special.


Traveled To:
January 2022

Mary Van Meter


Trip Review: It is the best vacation we have taken!

Most Memorable Moment: The first time we saw each animal for the first time.

Advice For Future Clients: Don’t hesitate!


Traveled To:
December 2021

Karen Wernette


Trip Review: Great accommodations. Staff at every location were great.

Advice For Future Clients: Go. Visit Botswana.


December 2021

Mark Abdy


Trip Review: The COVID-omicron variant appeared one week before departure, and we were questioning whether we should go. We are so glad we decided to go -- and truthfully, felt safer from exposure while on safari than in our American grocery stores, football stadiums and restaurants. The staff at every place we stayed were vaccinated and were very diligent in wearing masks. I cannot repeat enough how glad we are that we went on this trip. The wildlife sightings we spectacular.

Most Memorable Moment: Too many to list, but probably the herds of elephant coming down to drink at the Chobe River, the large herd of Roan antelope at Savute and the massive herds of buffalo at Moremi.

Advice For Future Clients: Don't let COVID prevent you from traveling. The personnel at the safari lodges are vaccinated and take significant precautions.


December 2021

Martha Dasch


Trip Review: The trip of a lifetime. So many wonderful animals and birds. The staff at all camps was amazing and friendly. African Portfolio's handling of the changing environment was no less short of miraculous.

Most Memorable Moment: My birthday occurred while on the trip and I was overwhelmed by the cakes, room decorations, singing, and celebration by staff in all three parks!!!!

Advice For Future Clients: Go see Botswana, you will not be disappointed.


December 2021

Douglas Warde and Steven Golightly


Trip Review: Never ever could we have figured out all the logistics surrounding this trip without the direction received from African Portfolio. Every step of the process, from the initial Covid postponement to the actual trip a year later, and even during the trip - knowing that Anouk and her team were there to help us was invaluable.

Most Memorable Moment: Being with the gorillas in Rwanda - and learning about the Rwanda 1994 Genocide

Advice For Future Clients: Pack sparingly


December 2021

Richard Miller


Trip Review: Awesome trip!

Most Memorable Moment: It was all amazing!

Advice For Future Clients: Relax and enjoy!


December 2021

Alexandra Ebzery and Paul Snell


Trip Review: Our honeymoon trip was absolutely amazing. The itinerary was perfectly tailored to our interests, and every little detail was accounted for. It was so nice to go on our trip and not have to worry about anything at all. We had the most amazing time staying busy in Cape Town between hikes and tours and wineries. The safari was the perfect mix of adventure and relaxation in between game drives. It was so nice to enjoy some pure beach relaxation at the end of our trip.

Most Memorable Moment: It is so hard to choose just one! We loved how different each part of our trip was, but safari was for sure a highlight!

Advice For Future Clients: Use African Portfolio to book your trip! You will be able to enjoy yourself in the best of accommodations and activities and not have to worry about anything!


November 2021

Anna Rozenshtein


Trip Review: Victoria planned the trip wonderfully. Flawless meeting/transfers, a good guide, excellent drivers, responsive representative when we changed departure times at the last moment

Most Memorable Moment: Watching lion cubs groom and hug each other and learn climbing rocks of their den

Advice For Future Clients: Late September would probably be slightly better--more flowering fynbos and fewer leaves for animal watching


Traveled To:
November 2021

David Berg


Trip Review: Victoria was wonderful, in planning the trip, and in helping us with the one year (Covid) delay. All of the accommodations and tours were great. It was especially good to have her working behind the scenes with Ranger Safaris to get our Covid testing done pre-departure from Tanzania.

Most Memorable Moment: Nine lion cubs on top of a very large pride rock in Serengeti park. Joseph then found us the "mamas" a few hundred meters one way, and "papa" in the other direction. Add to that Joseph's explanation of pride biology and mating dynamics, and it made for a very interesting morning.

Advice For Future Clients: Be prepared for the bumpy ride across rough terrain in your safari vehicle.


Traveled To:
October 2021

Kelli L


Trip Review: Our trip was truly the experience of a lifetime. I think we expected to have a great time, but didn't anticipate that we would feel as if we'd left a little piece of our hearts in Botswana. The wildlife and landscapes we saw were beautiful and beyond our expectations. The people we met were warm, kind, and happy to see visitors returning. Locals are obviously and rightly proud of their homelands and all they have to share with visitors from around the world. Covid precautions are taken very seriously and there was never a moment when we felt unsafe or exposed. We've been very cautious regarding covid throughout the pandemic and we felt safer in Africa than we have in the US.

Most Memorable Moment: It is very difficult to pick just one moment. Our last night at Camp X, they set up sundowners for us and another couple on the edge of a pool in Paradise Pools. We sat on blankets and had drinks while we watched the giant red sun going down and eventually a few elephants came out to drink on the other side of the pool. It was serene and lovely and the kind of experience that felt like something out of a movie. (Camp staff also got a great picture of the four of us during this and shared it with us.)

Advice For Future Clients: Go to Botswana, it will be worth it in ways you cannot imagine. Go to Africa RIGHT NOW if you can. The experience you will have due to the current lower volume of visitors is once in a lifetime.


October 2021

Robert Evans


Trip Review: This trip was utterly spectacular. We will treasure these memories the rest of our life. Everything about the trip was perfect. The game viewing, accommodations, tours, and transfers were splendid

Most Memorable Moment: Without a doubt it was the morning game drive in Savanna when we had the opportunity to watch a mother leopard with her two five month old cubs. The cubs played with each other for at least 20 minutes, like huge kittens. The three of them together were just spectacular.

Advice For Future Clients: Go to Africa, use African Portfolio. Go without expectations, accept all the wonderful things that come to you doing the trip. Revel in the wonderful, friendly people of South Africa.


Traveled To:
October 2021

Terri Pasquarelli


Trip Review: Where do we begin! Victoria was amazing in the planning of our trip. She handled changes and questions with her usual patient fun nature. Everything worked flawlessly.

Most Memorable Moment: When the staff surprised us with an incredible cocktail event in The Bush! Not to be forgotten.

Advice For Future Clients: Listen to Victoria and let her plan an amazing trip to Africa!


September 2021

Cathi Zilling


Trip Review: Simply put-beyond expectations! Victoria was amazing and so helpful and graciously answered our many questions! Can’t wait to do it again!

Most Memorable Moment: Seeing the interactive with all the babies and moms. From the Elephants and hippos to the lions and leopards. Seeing the family dynamics up close was special to me.

Advice For Future Clients: Just GO!


September 2021

Darlene Page


Most Memorable Moment: Canoeing down the Zambezi River with hippos and staying at Kingsmead in Harare.

Advice For Future Clients: Enjoy the wonderful hospitality of the African people and don’t believe the state department warnings. South Africa and especially Zimbabwe had more stringent Covid protocols than the US. We felt completely safe.


September 2021

Plan Your Safari
1 Your Trip
2 About You