Client Reviews

Displaying 
  Client Reviews

Kenneth Davis


Trip Review: Fantastic adventure from start to finish. All details worked to perfection or at least as perfect as could be expected. After all ”this is Africa “

Most Memorable Moment: Arriving at our second mobile tent camp and having giraffes and zebras walking around in comp. Amazing!

Advice For Future Clients: Be ready for long days riding in the safari trucks on very bumpy roads.


Traveled To:
February 2024

Debbie Claussen


Trip Review: I really didn’t know what to expect; but the whole experience exceeded my expectations. Loved the people (especially the guides), lodgings country…and, of course, the animals.

Most Memorable Moment: No one moment…just everything.

Advice For Future Clients: Be prepared for long days.


Traveled To:
February 2024

Erin Swain


Trip Review: Absolutely loved this trip!

Most Memorable Moment: Having a leopard look me in the eye right next to our truck. I’ll never forget it.

Advice For Future Clients: Don’t worry about getting there, just go!


Traveled To:
February 2024

Suzette Sells


Trip Review: Our journey was well planned, giving us the opportunity to see two entirely different areas of South Africa. The Kalahari desert provided a unique variety of wildlife, then we experienced the lush area of Sabi Sands. Victoria also planned a wonderful visit in Cape Town, a must see if you're going on safari in South Africa. We are so glad we turned to African Portfolios for this once in a lifetime adventure (although, we may have to return to Africa after our experience).

Most Memorable Moment: Our bush walk tracking a cheetah and her 3 cubs; our hearts were racing as we trailed along behind.

Advice For Future Clients: If your budget allows go for private safari drives.


Traveled To:
February 2024

Karen Halkovic


Trip Review: I was very pleased with all of the attention to detail. The travel docs that were sent as well as on line were very helpful. After a long traveling day the fruit in the hotel was a very welcomed touch. I can't speak highly enough about African Portfolio and look forward to our next trip with them.

Most Memorable Moment: My birthday celebration and cake at Sand Rivers. Being so close to the elephants-that was a real treat for me.

Advice For Future Clients: Go with African Portfolio. Don't over pack travel light. Bring a very good camera and a lens at least 500mm- 600mm.


Traveled To:
January 2024

Eileen Fischmann


Trip Review: All of our arrangements went very smoothly and your on site travel partners were excellent and very responsive.

Most Memorable Moment: Sitting on my patio at Lion Sands, watching a family of elephants eat their lunch 15 feet from me.

Advice For Future Clients: If you can, spend the money for a truly luxury safari experience.


Traveled To:
January 2024

Giovanna Weller


Trip Review: This was a life-changing experience. Yvette at African Portfolio divided our vacation into three perfect adventures - Cape Town, Sabi Sands, and Bazaruto Island. The four days at each location was perfect and we are so glad we had such an experienced travel planner.

Most Memorable Moment: The game drives at Simbambili.

Advice For Future Clients: Plan to stay in northern Africa or Europe at end of vacation to break up flight. Also, if you are on the fence about booking such a huge trip, DO IT!


December 2023

Beth Richardson


Trip Review: Vanessa did a fabulous job in setting this trip up. She listened to what we were interested in and provided valuable feedback.

Most Memorable Moment: We thought every day was wonderful. Each night we wondered how it could get better, and each day was better! Our most favorite moment was our gorilla trekking!

Advice For Future Clients: Do it!


December 2023

Lisa Stevens


Trip Review: I was lucky enough to participate in a trip planned by the Richardson's with Vanessa and could not have been happier that I was invited along. It truly was a life changing experience. Africa was not on my bucket list but I knew it was something I shouldn't pass up. So grateful that I joined the group!

Most Memorable Moment: No way there is just one! It was truly amazing to be that close to nature. And to have guides that could speak to the animals and the birds and the vegetation.

Advice For Future Clients: GO !!! I was truly a bit panicked a few days before thinking of the travel time and the heat and the potential of being greeted by mosquitoes etc....all for nothing! I would GO all over again.


Traveled To:
December 2023

Amanda McMillan


Trip Review: We could not have been more pleased with this trip. From start to finish, it was clear that we were in excellent hands. Our consultant, Susan, provided incredibly useful insights and advice in helping us to craft the perfect introductory itinerary for our first safari. We arrived well-prepared and were well taken care of throughout the journey, allowing us to truly relax into the experience and become absorbed in the sights and sounds of Tanzania. From the lodging to the selection of a guide to the logistical arrangements, African Portfolio delivered, engaging with reliable in-country operators and establishments to ensure that we’d return from our trip with only the most fantastic memories.

Most Memorable Moment: The Ngorongoro Crater was truly a wonder to behold. It was like the Garden of Eden — new wonders to behold with each turn of the head. Just amazing.

Advice For Future Clients: Get to know your guide, and trust his/her instincts. They know this territory and can help you to experience some amazing things if you follow their lead with an open mind and a little patience.


Traveled To:
November 2023

Nancy Lannom


Trip Review: The organization and attention to detail was amazing! Everywhere we went we were treated like VIPs. Yvette did not leave out anything. It was truly phenomenal.

Most Memorable Moment: Arriving at the Serengeti. It was almost surreal.


November 2023

Deborah Torvinen


Trip Review: I have a hard time finding the words to describe the amazing time we had on our trip. I just don't believe there are enough adjectives to accurately describe the fabulous things we saw and did.

Most Memorable Moment: We were sitting in front of our tent during the mid day break and heard a bunch of loud screams. I knew it was some kind of animal but was not sure what. I sent a text to Mark. He thought maybe they were baboons. We just went back to the things we were doing. When we went on our afternoon drive another group had found two lionesses that had killed a baby elephant. The guides said that the screaming had been the elephants. So sad, but part of nature and an experience I will never forget.

Advice For Future Clients: Go to see all you can see and don't have expectations. I went with an openness to any and everything that we could see and do and was never disappointed at all.


November 2023

Mark Abdy


Trip Review: The two days in Victoria Falls served as a great start for our trip, the wildlife sightings in the Okavango Delta were excellent at both Machaba Camp and Gomoti Plains (literally saw everything we hoped to see including multiple Wild Dogs and Leopard sightings), and a wonderful time in The Cape enjoying the stunning beauty and great of this region.

Most Memorable Moment: One of our afternoon game drives at Machaba was "off the charts": started with Lion on a kill, then Wild Dogs, then a Honey Badger hunting on an open pan and completely oblivious to us, then a Leopard hunting a hare; two different owl species and finally a short glimpse of an Aardvark. We happily didn't stop for sundowners with those kind of sightings.

Advice For Future Clients: Don't wait to go on your dream safari. The team at African Portfolio will work with you to plan a safari based on your desires. You get what you pay for.


November 2023

Luis Alvarez


Trip Review: Shaun (at Machaba) was amazing, as always.

Advice For Future Clients: Patience can pay off.


Traveled To:
November 2023

Doreen Harris


Trip Review: Except for the extended Wilderness flight from Hoanib to Little Kulala everything went smoothly and efficiently.

Most Memorable Moment: Saw brown hyena at both Ongava and Little Kulala Camps. The "special" dinner arrangements for our 49th wedding anniversary especially at Ongava Camp and Little Kulala Camp. They were wonderful and greatly appreciated!

Advice For Future Clients: Do your research on weather and camps.


Traveled To:
November 2023

Plan Your Safari
1 Your Trip
2 About You